4 Comments
Feb 18, 2022Liked by Deion A. Kathawa

I don't think the ERA should be certified or archived. My primary reason is that the deadline passed 40 years ago without the required number of states ratifying it. As a side note, I also think that because the rescinding of certification also occurred within the specified ratification time period, the rescissions could also count.

I'm new to your blog and enjoy so keep posting when you can.

Expand full comment
author

I'm with you, Renee. I remember learning back in high school that rescinding amendment-ratification votes was not permitted. That always struck me as odd, that the amendment process is a one-way ratchet, so to speak. I never did follow up on my gut feeling that something about that seemed wrong. I guess we'll see what happens.

Thanks so much for reading and commenting! I'm glad you've enjoyed the content.

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022Liked by Deion A. Kathawa

Will it be certified? No, I don't think so. If he was going to do it he probably already would have. Should it be certified? Setting aside my opinions of the proposed amendment, it seems pretty clear to me that the time limit is an issue for them, at least so long as Congress has not removed it. I am not sure that states can rescind support for an amendment, and the argument about the difference between text and preamble is an interesting one, but given that the time limit was legislatively left in place I feel comfortable saying that the amendment has not been ratified. (I also note that arguments like "there is no time limit on equality" would seem to illustrate that the case for ratification is not very strong.)

I enjoy SK, and don't necessarily know of anything that you could do to improve it. One of the things that I feel works well is that your content is varied and you cover a lot of different topics. If you want to do discussion threads on an ongoing basis, Friday does seem like a good day for it (it does lead into the weekend, giving more time for varied people to participate).

I'll refrain from offering comment on your beard, given my own inability to grow one.

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022Liked by Deion A. Kathawa

What a nutty controversy! Those lefties just won't take "No!" for an answer, will they? It would be absurd for the ERA to be incorporated in the Constitution under these circumstances -- although, given that the judiciary has already conjured similar "rights" out of thin air, it hardly matters.

Hmm. What should you be doing differently? Your blog is very stimulating as is, so I don't think you NEED to make any changes. It kinda depends on what you want to achieve. I don't know if you've ever seen my blog, but it's: www.waddyisright.com It's similar to yours, except that I: post more frequently (every day or two), use images, link frequently to news stories and articles I find interesting, and I try to crank out one full article per week (published elsewhere but linked on the blog) and I do one radio interview per week (also linked). Traffic isn't great, but I have a few devoted followers who comment on pretty much everything I post, and that generates a steady dialogue. I would love it if my blog became an internet sensation, but for that to happen I'd have to invest a lot of time and energy in self-promotion. That doesn't really interest me. Blogging is fun. Hawking my wares isn't. I don't know if any of this is helpful, but take it for what it's worth...

Expand full comment